skip navigation

Glen Davies

Born: May 21, 1925 in Kansas City, Kansas (United States)

Died: February 7, 2013 in Ankeny, Iowa (United States)

Enshrined: 1989

Country: USA

Category: Leader

Biography (Current at time of Induction)

Glen Davies serves as a model of excellence within the world of volleyball refereeing. It is said that during his career, no other official in volleyball contributed more to the sport than he. He was the only official in the world to be assigned to the first four Olympic Games, including two gold medal competitions, and became the second American named as an International Federation of Volleyball referee.

Between 1961 and 1984, Davies officiated 24 consecutive USVBA Championships, and from 1964 to 1974 he was selected as first referee for seven Men's Open Finals, two Women's Open Finals and as second referee in the Men's Open Finals, a record unprecedented and unduplicated in the history of the USVBA. Among the many honors bestowed upon Davies are the USVBA's Golden Whistle, Leader in Volleyball, Official Emeritus, and the "FRIER" (highest honor given by the USVBA) awards. In 1988 the USVBA created the Glen G. Davies Award, given annually to American Volleyball Officials exhibiting the highest excellence in their field.

In 1984 Davies was selected by the International Federation of Volleyball to serve as the Director of Referees for the Los Angeles Olympic Games. He was also the technical Director for the 1990 Goodwill Games Volleyball Competition in Spokane and Seattle, Washington, and the Director of Competition for the 1989 U.S.A. Cup Men's Tournament.